Eight countries lose UN General Assembly voting rights due to arrears

Kubiak, spokesman for the President of the United Nations General Assembly, said on the 12th. Eight UN member states lost their right to vote in the UN General Assembly for failing to pay UN dues.

Kubiak said at a regular press conference that day that the eight countries are Iran, Sudan, Venezuela, Antigua and Barbuda, Congo (Brazzaville), Guinea, Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu.

According to the letter sent by UN Secretary-General Guterres to the UN General Assembly on the 11th. Eleven countries have been in arrears for more than two years, and eight of them have been disqualified from voting in the General Assembly.

According to Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations, if a Member State is in arrears with contributions equal to or greater than the contributions due for the previous two years. They would lose voting rights in the General Assembly unless it can be shown that the situation was caused by factors beyond their control.

According to Guterres’ letter, the Comoros, Sao Tome and Principe, and Somalia belong to the category of “caused by factors beyond their control.” Its 2022 voting rights can still be retained. At the same time, the eight countries that had their voting rights removed can restore their voting rights as long as they pay a prescribed minimum amount.

The 76th UN General Assembly in December approved the UN’s 2022 regular budget totaling US$3.122 billion. The apportionment ratio of the regular budget of the United Nations is determined on the principle of the ability of each country to pay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *